The U.S. Department of State consists of bureaus and offices responsible for handling various interests and policy initiatives of the Department. Each bureau handles issues that range from climate change to human rights, and bureaus work together to advocate the mission of the U.S. Department of State overseas.

Some bureaus are “regional,” such as the Bureau of African Affairs and the Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs, and others are “functional,” dealing with specific external issues or internal responsibilities, like the Bureau for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor; the Bureau of Administration; and the Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs. To learn more about an individual bureau and its function within the Department, click on the different bureaus in the image map below. Please note that the links will open a new window to

This chart is also available in a text-only version at

Date: 05/11/2012 Description: Department of State Organizational Chart - State Dept Image

Secretary of State (S) United States Agency for International Development (USAID) United States Mission to the United Nations (USUN) Counselor and Chief of Staff (S/COS) Deputy Secretary of State D(B)  Deputy Secretary of State D(N) Executive Secretariat (S/ES) Office of U.S. Foreign Assistance (F) Under Secretary for Political Affairs (P) Under Secretary for Economic Growth, Energy and Environment (E) Under Secretary for Arms Control and International Security Affairs (T) Under Secretary for Public Diplomacy and Public Affiars Under Secretary for Management (M) Under Secretary for Civilian Security, Democracy and Human Rights (J) African Affairs (AF) European and Eurasian Affairs (EUR) East Asian and Pacific Affairs (EAP) Near Eastern Affairs (NEA) South and Central Asian Affairs (SCA) Western Hemisphere Affairs (WHA) International Organizations (IO) Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs (EB) Energy Resources (ENR) Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs (OES) Office of the Chief Economist (OCE) Arms Control, Verification and Compliance (AVC) International Security and Nonproliferation (ISN) Political-Military Affairs (PM) Education and Cultural Affairs (ECA) International Information Programs (IIP) Public Affairs Administration Budget and Planning Consular Affairs (CA) Diplomatic Security and Foreign Missions (DS) Foreign Service Institute (FSI) Comptroller, Global Financial Services (CGFS) Human Resources (HR) Information Resources Management (IRM) Office of Medical Services (MED) Overseas Building Operations (OBO) Office of Management Policy, Rightsizing and Innovation (M/PRI) Conflict & Stabilization Operations (CSO) Counterterrorism (CT) Democracy, Human Rights and Labor (DRL) International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs (INL) Population, Refugees and Migration (PRM) Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Person (TIP) Office of Global Criminal Justice (GCJ) Intelligence and Research (INR) Legislative Affairs (H) Office of the Legal Adviser (L) Office of Inspector General (OIG) Office of Policy Planning Staff (S/P) Office of the Chief of Protocol (S/CPR) Office of Civil Rights (S/OCR) Office of Global Women's Issues (S/GWI) Office of the Global AIDS Coordinator (S/GAC) Special Envoys and Special Representatives